TEXARKANA, Texas (KTAL/KSHV) – Texarkana Arkansas Mayor Bob Bruggeman, easily slid by challenger Brian Matthews in Tuesday’s mayoral election to win a fourth term in office.

Bruggeman garnered 2,245 votes to challenger Brian Matthews’ 1045 votes, giving Bruggeman a landslide 68% percent of the vote to Matthews 32%.

Matthews had hoped to unseat Bruggeman in the first contested mayoral race the city has seen since Bruggeman took office in 2012.

After the final vote tally was in, Bruggeman expressed gratitude to voters, saying his administration has enjoyed great support from the city, as well as from the City Council and City Hall staff.

Matthews, a professor at Texas A&M University-Texarkana, as a city council member from 2012 to 2017 and launched his campaign for mayor in July.

With 62% of the vote, Mary Duhart Hart came in ahead of opponent Mary Adele Phillips, who garnered 62% of the vote.